

AUTHENTICATED, OHIO LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION DOCUMENT #251439

Ohio Administrative Code Rule 3335-1-04 University faculty. Effective: November 4, 2020

(A) University faculty; membership.

(1) As used in university bylaws and in the "Rules of the University Faculty," the term faculty shall include persons with regular tenure-track, regular clinical, regular research, auxiliary, and emeritus faculty titles on full or part-time appointments with or without salary.

(2) For purposes of the legislative authority described in paragraph (B) of this rule, the term university faculty shall mean all regular tenure-track faculty, the president, members of the presidents cabinet, the deans of the colleges and of the graduate school, the executive dean of the colleges of the arts and sciences, and the dean for undergraduate education.

(B) University faculty; powers.

(1) The legislative authority to establish educational and academic policies of the university is vested in the university faculty, subject to the approval of the board of trustees. In this connection, the university faculty shall have the authority, subject to the approval of the board of trustees, to adopt rules to effectuate the educational and academic policies of the university. It shall also act upon all matters of routine faculty business in pursuance of already established university policies and shall recommend to the board of trustees candidates for honorary degrees.

(2) The university faculty may delegate any or all of its authority and responsibility to a university senate if such senate is established by rule and approved by the board.

(C) Graduate faculty. There shall be established a graduate faculty with such membership and having such authority and responsibility as provided by rule promulgated by the university faculty or university senate and approved by the board.

(D) College and department or school faculties. There shall be established college and department or



AUTHENTICATED, OHIO LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION DOCUMENT #251439

school faculties with such membership and having such authority and responsibility as provided by rule promulgated by the university faculty or university senate and approved by the board.