ACTION: Final

AMENDED
Appendix
4901:1-18-08

DATE: 03/19/2015 9:55 AM

Rule 4901:1-18-08

APPENDIX A

(UTILITY COMPANY LETTERHEAD displaying name of utility company, street address, city and zip code)

, 20____

TEN-DAY SERVICE DISCONNECTION NOTICE TO TENANTS

YOU MAY LOSE YOUR GAS/ELECTRIC SERVICE!

Your landlord	dlord (Name of landlord/agent), ((Address)		,
(City)	(Zip code)	, has not paid the(G	Bas/electr	ic)	_bill for
your building(s) and 1	now owes	(Name of utility company)	\$	(Amount)	
As a result, your <u>(</u>	Gas/electric)	service will be disconnected on		(Date)	<u> </u>

If you want to keep service, you must within 10 business days from the date of this notice or within 14 calendar days after disconnection, do one of the following:

A. Act as a representative or have another tenant act as a representative and collect from the tenants the amount of the landlord's current bill. Contact (Name of utility company) to find out the amount of the current bill. In order to keep service, you must also continue to pay the current bill as long as the landlord remains in default. Please note: If you choose this option, you must also continue to pay your rent to your landlord.

-OR-

- B. Notify your landlord that you intend to pay your rent to the appropriate court (escrow your rent). Your rent must be current and you must continue to pay your rent to the landlord as usual until the appropriate court accepts your rent in escrow. Please check with your local court for the proper escrow procedures. The utility company must continue service for at least 30 days, if you follow the list of procedures and file the forms (provided by the utility company). Please note: If you do not escrow your rent properly, you will likely not have a valid defense should your landlord file an eviction for nonpayment of rent. This option is not available if your landlord gave you written notice when you moved in that he/she owns less than four dwelling units.
- ** IMPORTANT! UPON REQUEST, (Name of utility company) WILL PROVIDE A LIST OF PROCEDURES AND FORMS FOR YOU TO USE.
- ** IMPORTANT! IF YOU WANT TO ORDER THE FORMS, OR IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PLEASE CALL <u>(Name of utility company)</u> AT <u>(Phone No.)</u> DURING BUSINESS HOURS.

You may also wish to contact your attorney, local tenant organization at <u>(Phone no.)</u>, local bar association(s) at <u>(Phone No.)</u>, Ohio State Legal Services Association at 1-800-589-5888, the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio at 1-800-686-7826, or the Office of Consumers' Counsel at 1-877-742-5622. For residents of <u>(City, State Zip Code)</u>, you may want to contact <u>(Local legal services program)</u> at <u>(Phone No.)</u>.