

Ohio Revised Code

Section 3353.02 Broadcast educational media commission established.

Effective: October 3, 2023 Legislation: House Bill 33

(A) There is hereby created the broadcast educational media commission as an independent agency to advance education and accelerate the learning of the citizens of this state through public educational broadcasting services. The commission shall provide leadership and support in extending the knowledge of the citizens of this state by promoting access to and use of educational broadcasting services, including educational television and radio and radio reading services. The commission also shall administer programs to provide financial and other assistance to educational television and radio and radio reading services.

The commission is a body corporate and politic, an agency of the state performing essential governmental functions of the state.

- (B) The commission shall consist of, eleven voting members. Nine members shall be representatives of the public, which may include individuals who are public officials or employees as defined in section 102.01 of the Revised Code, with consideration given to leading citizens in the state who have demonstrated interest in educational broadcast media, including through service on boards or advisory councils of educational television stations, educational radio stations, educational technology agencies, or radio reading services, or through service or experience in broadcast media, education, or government administration. Of the representatives of the public, three shall be appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate, three shall be appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, and three shall be appointed by the president of the senate. Not more than two members appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and not more than two members appointed by the president of the senate shall be of the same political party. The director of education and workforce or a designee of the director and the chancellor of higher education or a designee of the chancellor shall be ex officio voting members.
- (C) Terms of office for appointed members shall be for four years. Any member may be reappointed by the member's respective appointing authority, but the member may serve no more than two consecutive four-year terms. Such a member may be removed by the member's respective appointing



authority for cause.

- (D) Vacancies among appointed members shall be filled in the manner provided for original appointments. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of that term. Any appointed member shall continue in office subsequent to the expiration of that member's term until the member's successor takes office or until a period of sixty days has elapsed, whichever occurs first.
- (E) Members of the commission shall serve without compensation. Appointed members shall be reimbursed, pursuant to office of budget and management guidelines, for actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of official duties.
- (F) The governor shall appoint the chairperson of the commission from among the commission's appointed members. The chairperson shall serve a term of two years and may be reappointed. The commission shall elect other officers as necessary from among its members and shall prescribe its rules of procedure.