

Ohio Revised Code Section 6161.02 Great Lakes commission members.

Effective: January 8, 1979

Legislation: Senate Bill 115 - 112th General Assembly

In pursuance of Article IV of the compact, as set forth in section 6161.01 of the Revised Code, there shall be five commissioners on the great lakes commission from this state.

One of the commissioners shall be the director of the department of natural resources, one shall be the director of environmental protection, one shall be a member of the senate who shall be appointed by the president of the senate, one shall be a member of the house of representatives who shall be appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, to serve for two-year terms respectively, and one shall be appointed by the governor to serve at his pleasure. The commissioner appointed by the governor shall be a person qualified by experience and training in the areas set forth in the purpose clauses of the compact. In order to fully effectuate these purposes the members of the state commission shall appoint advisory committees similar to the committees of the commission. Members of said advisory committees may not vote on matters considered by the state commission.

Members of the state commission shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in attendance at official meetings of the commission and its committees.