Lawriter - OAC - 3335-5-47 Organizing committees of the senate.

3335-5-47 Organizing committees of the senate.

(A) The senate shall have two organizing committees (see rules 3335-5-47.1 to 3335-5-47.3 of the Administrative Code):

(1) Steering committee;

(2) Rules committee.

(B) Membership.

(1) The president shall appoint members of the administration; the council of graduate students, the inter-professional council, the undergraduate student government, and the faculty council shall select members of their own constituency using procedures adopted by their respective bodies.

(2) Only members of the senate may serve on organizing committees.

(3) Terms of service.

(a) Faculty members shall serve two-year terms and are eligible for immediate reelection or reappointment to a second term. Following that they are ineligible for reelection or reappointment until one full year has elapsed. Faculty members may not serve as chair of an individual committee for more than three successive years.

(b) Student members shall serve one-year terms and shall be eligible for reappointment.

(c) Appointed administration members shall serve two-year terms and shall not be eligible for immediate reappointment until one full year has elapsed unless they have served less than two-thirds of a full term.

(d) Multiyear terms shall be staggered so that approximately equal proportions of the number of members retire each year.

(C) Organizing committees are also governed by the provisions of rule 3335-5-46 of the Administrative Code.

Replaces: 3335-5-47

Effective: 7/28/2010
Promulgated Under: 111.15
Statutory Authority: 3335
Rule Amplifies: 3335.08
Prior Effective Dates: 03/13/1978, 08/08/1978, 01/28/1980, 03/17/1980, 04/20/1981, 02/06/1983, 05/11/1984, 07/01/1984, 04/29/1985, 12/15/1985, 04/27/1986, 06/16/1986, 03/05/1988, 02/26/1990, 05/25/1991, 06/21/1993, 01/27/1995, 08/06/2007, 07/28/2010