Lawriter - OAC - 3339-1-03 Educational program of the university.

3339-1-03 Educational program of the university.

(A) Miami university shall consist of the following major academic divisions: college of arts and science, college of education health, and society, the farmer school of business, college of creative arts, college of engineering and computing, graduate school, college of professional studies and applied sciences, and such other divisions as the board may from time to time determine.

(B) The provision of major fields of study and the determination of the degrees appropriate thereto shall be approved by the board.

(C) The content of the educational program shall be determined by the university senate (subject to the right of initiative and referendum of the faculty assembly) and approved by the president.

(D) Each of the major academic divisions of the university shall be headed by an academic dean to be appointed by the president, in consultation with the provost, and with the affirmation of the board. Each academic dean shall be responsible for general educational supervision of the departments, faculty, and curricula in the college or school of which he or she is dean.

(E) The instructional staff shall be divided into academic departments. An academic department is an administrative unit established to combine the various course offerings of a particular academic discipline or area of knowledge. The number and designation of such departments shall be determined by the president, subject to approval by the board.

Replaces: 3339-1-03

Effective: 3/6/2015
Promulgated Under: 111.15
Statutory Authority: 3339.01
Rule Amplifies: 3339.01
Prior Effective Dates: 7/20/79, 9/30/99, 11/7/03, 10/17/07, 8/20/08, 9/13/12