4734-7-05 Forfeiture of chiropractic license; restoration of chiropractic license.

(A) Licenses that are not renewed or placed inactive before April first of each even-numbered year shall be considered forfeited.

(B) A chiropractic physician holding a forfeited license may apply to have such license reinstated on board prescribed forms and provide all information necessary to process the application for reinstatement.

(1) If an application for reinstatement is received before the first day of the second year of the CE period, the applicant shall submit a non-refundable renewal fee of five hundred dollars and a one hundred fifty dollar penalty fee made payable to the treasurer, state of Ohio and submit evidence of earning thirty-six hours of CE which shall include 1.5 hours of ethics and/or professionalism. Such CE credit shall be earned in accordance with the provisions of this Chapter and attained within the twenty-four months immediately preceding the date of the application for restoration.

(2) If an application for reinstatement is received on or after the first day of the second year of the CE period, the applicant shall submit a non-refundable renewal fee of two hundred fifty dollars and a one hundred fifty dollar penalty fee made payable to the treasurer, state of Ohio and submit evidence of earning eighteen hours of CE which shall include 1.5 hours of ethics and/or professionalism. Such CE credit shall be earned in accordance with the provisions of this Chapter and attained within the twenty-four months immediately preceding the date of the application for restoration.

(C) If an individual's license has been forfeited for two years or more, the board may require as a condition for reinstatement that the applicant complete training or testing which may include passage of the "Special Purposes Examination for Chiropractic" offered by the national board of chiropractic examiners.

(D) The board may refuse or deny an applicant for reinstatement of his or her forfeited license if the applicant does not meet the requirements as outlined in this chapter or section 4734.25 of the Revised Code or has committed any act which indicates that the applicant does not possess the character and fitness to practice chiropractic, including any act that would be grounds for disciplinary action as outlined in section 4734.31 of the Revised Code. The burden of proof is on the applicant to prove by clear and convincing evidence to the board that he or she meets the conditions for license restoration.

(E) Any applicant that the board proposes to refuse or deny licensure reinstatement shall be entitled to a hearing on the question of such proposed refusal or denial. Notice and hearing requirements incident to such proposed refusal or denial shall be in compliance with the provisions of Chapter 119. of the Revised Code and Chapter 4734-4 of the Administrative Code.

Effective: 12/01/2012
R.C. 119.032 review dates: 09/10/2012 and 12/01/2017
Promulgated Under: 119.03
Statutory Authority: 4734.10
Rule Amplifies: 4734.25
Prior Effective Dates: 1/10/03, 4/1/10, 10/18/10