Chapter 901:3-21 Food Processing Establishments

901:3-21-01 Registration and fees.

(A) Pursuant to section 3715.041 of the Revised Code, the director shall administer the applicable provisions of Chapter 901:3-21 of the Administrative Code to food processing establishments as defined in section 3715.021 of the Revised Code.

(B) Registration:

(1) A food processing establishment that is currently inspected by the Ohio department of agriculture and has not been put on notice pursuant to section 913.41 of the Revised Code will receive the application of registration automatically from the Ohio department of agriculture. The application must be returned to the Ohio department of agriculture and postmarked on or before the thirty-first of January in order to be considered timely.

(2) A new food processing establishment (a firm not actively inspected by the division of food safety) shall be inspected to determine if the firm is in compliance with this chapter and Chapter 925. of the Revised Code and all applicable rules adopted under those chapters. Upon inspection the firm will be given an application of registration if the firm is determined to be in compliance with applicable statutes and rules.

(3) A food processing establishment currently inspected by the Ohio department of agriculture and on notice pursuant to section 913.41 of the Revised Code must come into compliance before an application for registration is provided.

(C) The fees as provided in division (A)(2) of section 3715.041 of the Revised Code are as follows:

Fees

Size in square feet

Annual fee

0- 4,999

$50

5,000- 9,999

$75

10,000- 49,999

$125

50,000- 99,999

$175

100,000 and up

$300

(D) The late fee as provided in division (C)(2) of section 3715.041 of the Revised Code shall be up to fifty dollars for registrations not postmarked on or prior to the thirty-first of January. The director shall not renew the registration until the applicant pays the registration and late fee. The late fees are as follows:

Late Fees

Size in square feet

Late fee

0- 4,999

$ 25.00

5,000- 9,999

$ 30.00

10,000-49,999

$ 35.00

50,000- 99,999

$ 40.00

100,000 and up

$ 50.00

Effective: 6/3/2016
Five Year Review (FYR) Dates: 03/16/2016 and 06/03/2021
Promulgated Under: 119.03
Statutory Authority: 3715.02, 3715.041
Rule Amplifies: 3715.041
Prior Effective Dates: 01/29/2010, 07/28/2011