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Ohio Administrative Code 
Rule 3337-40-29 Sick and bereavement leave for faculty and administrative
appointees. 
Effective: July 7, 2016
 
 

The version of this rule that includes live links to associated resources is online at

 

https://www.ohio.edu/policy/40-029.html

 

(A) Overview

 

This policy provides for the accrual and use of sick and bereavement leave (often "sick leave" in the

following) and the conversion and payment of unused sick leave at time of retirement or upon death

of an employee.

 

Ohio university faculty and administrative presidential appointees may earn and accrue sick leave,

which may be used for paid sick leave when necessary. Sick leave will typically be earned at the rate

of 1.25 days for each month of service. Sick leave credit will be earned based on the appointment

and employment type of the individual. There is no limit as to the amount of sick leave which may

be accumulated. The procedures regarding usage, notification, and verification of sick leave are

detailed below.

 

(B) Sick and bereavement leave

 

(1) Definition

 

Sick and bereavement leave is the authorized absence from duties due to:

 

(a) Personal illness, injury, or temporary disability.

 

(b) Exposure to contagious disease which could be communicated to other members of the university

community, or

 



Page 2

(c) Illness, injury, or death in the individual's immediate family. Immediate family is defined as:

spouse, son, daughter, mother, father, brother, sister, grandparent, grandchild, father-in-law, mother-

in-law, daughter-in-law, son-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, and a legal guardian or other

person who stands in place of a parent (in loco parentis), plus domestic partners and the domestic

partner's immediate family (see the discussions under "Definitions" and "Benefits" in policy 40.013,

for details). Bereavement leave granted for a death in the immediate family shall not exceed five

working days.

 

(d) Medical, dental, psychological, or optical examination or treatment of an employee or a member

of his or her immediate family.

 

(2) Approval

 

Sick and bereavement leave is granted on the approval of the department chairperson or the

supervisor to whom the individual reports; such a request should be made on the first day of absence

or in advance, if possible. The individual, upon return to work, must complete a "Paid Time Off:

Faculty and Staff Form." The university reserves the right to require the individual to:

 

(a) Furnish medical evidence of illness, including providing medical releases,

 

(b) Provide medical verification of ability to return to work,

 

(c)  Provide other appropriate or necessary information, e.g. proof of medical care of family member,

death of family member, etc.

 

(3) Usage

 

A consecutive period of sick leave includes all normally scheduled work days except holidays

observed by the university during an employee's appointment period. No presidential appointee shall

be charged with more than five sick leave days in any seven day period.

 

(C) Accumulation of sick leave benefit
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(1) The benefit will accumulate at the rate of 1.25 days per calendar month or fifteen days per year

for all full-time presidential appointments. (Full-time presidential appointee, for purposes of this

policy, is defined as anyone holding a regular full-time nine-, ten-, eleven-, or twelve-month

appointment.) Accrual of sick leave will be unlimited. Time spent on vacation, paid military leave,

faculty fellowship leaves, paid professional leave, or sick leave will count toward accumulation of

benefits. There will be no accumulation of benefits while on an unpaid leave of absence.

 

(2) Part-time faculty (groups I, II, and IV) and administrators (as defined in employee handbooks and

in policy 41.010) are also eligible for sick leave accrual and usage. The monthly accrual shall be

calculated on a prorata basis based on the individual's main appointment in effect for the month of

accrual.

 

(3) An employee who transfers from one state or local Ohio public agency to another (Ohio public

agency refers to governmental entities under the control of Ohio's state or local government), or who

is reappointed or reinstated, will be credited with the unused balance of accumulated sick leave--up

to the maximum of the sick leave accumulation permitted in the public agency to which the

employee transfers and provided the time between separation and reappointment does not exceed ten

years. Written proof of sick leave credits must be furnished by the department that the individual is

leaving to the new department.

 

(4) The use of sick leave beyond an individual's accumulated balance is defined as an unauthorized

absence. These individuals who are absent due to any of the reasons outlined in part (B)(1) of this

policy, and who have exhausted their accumulated sick leave, will have their gross monthly salary

reduced in proportion to the total duration of the unauthorized absence. The adjustment will be made

by the payroll manager who will notify the appropriate dean or department head accordingly.

 

(D) Utilization of the benefit

 

The period covered by use of accumulated sick leave benefits is all consecutive normally scheduled

university work days exclusive of the university's holidays during the period of sick leave. Usage of

sick leave shall be recorded using the online absence management system.

 

(E) Retirement or death benefits for accumulated sick leave
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(1) Conversion and payment of unused sick leave at retirement

 

An employee retiring with ten or more years of creditable state service may elect to be compensated

for one-fourth of his or her accrued but unused sick leave not to exceed thirty days (equal to one-

fourth of one hundred twenty days); election must be made no later than sixty days after the date of

retirement. Payment will be based upon the employee's rate of pay at the time of regular or disability

retirement. Such payment may be made only once to an employee and only to those employees who

are on the active payroll of Ohio university at the time of retirement. The two mutually exclusive

options are:

 

(a) To be paid for one-fourth their sick leave balance up to a maximum of thirty days, or

 

(b) To carry forward the total sick leave balance for future anticipated state employment. This option

precludes any future payoff from Ohio university.

 

For purposes of determining the sick leave conversion, the following calculation shall be used.

Individual faculty and administrators on full-time nine-, ten-, eleven-, or twelve-month appointments

shall have their salary divided by the respective number of months they are under appointment. This

monthly salary shall in turn be divided by twenty-two days to determine the per diem rate for

calculating retirement benefits. Part-time faculty and administrators will have their sick leave pay-off

calculated based on their total gross earnings for the most recent twelve-month period, three fiscal

quarters, or two academic semesters, as appropriate.

 

The payment of the sick leave conversion under this policy will eliminate all sick leave credit of the

faculty or administrative appointee at the time of retirement, and payment will be made only once to

any individual. Sick leave conversion does not apply to any termination or separation other than

retirement (or death in service, as described in part (E)(2) of this policy). An employee who returns

to university service after retiring may accumulate and use sick leave as before, but may not convert

the unused sick leave at the time of any subsequent separation.

 

(2) Conversion and payment of unused sick leave upon death.
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In the event of the death of an employee with ten or more years of creditable state service, one-fourth

of the employee's accrued but unused sick leave, not to exceed thirty days (equal to one-fourth of one

hundred twenty days), will be paid to the employee's survivors or to the employee's estate in

accordance with the Revised Code. The amount of the payment will be calculated as described in

part (E)(1) of this policy.

 

The version of this rule that includes live links to associated resources is online at

 

https://www.ohio.edu/policy/40-029.html
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