

AUTHENTICATED, OHIO LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION DOCUMENT #313153

## Ohio Administrative Code Rule 3359-1-06 University faculty. Effective: October 14, 2023

(A) The university faculty shall consist of the president of the university, vice presidents, deans, distinguished professors, professors, associate professors, assistant professors, instructors, part-time faculty, and all others giving instruction for college credit who have been appointed by the board or the board's designee (s) upon recommendation of the president. It shall include, also, such administrative officers and staff members as may be assigned thereto by the board or their designee(s) upon recommendation of the president.

(B) The faculty senate of the university faculty is the legislative body thereof. In accordance with the state of Ohio appropriations budget as regards higher education boards of trustees, the board of trustees may consult with faculty senate about shared collegial academic governance in such fundamental areas as curriculum, subject matter and methods of instruction and faculty research. The board empowers it to formulate and recommend suitable rules, requirements, and procedures for the admission, government, management, and control of the students, courses of study, granting of degrees and certificates, and other internal affairs of the institution necessary to meet the objectives of the university in accordance with the established policies of the board. However in accordance with the state of Ohio appropriations budget as regards higher education boards of trustees, administrative decisions about the utilization of available resources, organizational structure, the operation and staffing of all auxiliary facilities, and administrative personnel shall be the exclusive prerogative of the board of trustees.

(C) The faculty senate shall be composed in the manner set forth in rule 3359-2-02 of the Administrative Code as approved by the board.