

AUTHENTICATED, OHIO LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION DOCUMENT #266464

Ohio Revised Code

Section 3517.14 Ohio elections commission - prior to 1996.

Effective: October 5, 1987 Legislation: House Bill 231 - 117th General Assembly

(A) There is hereby created the Ohio elections commission consisting of five members, four of whom shall be appointed by the secretary of state with the advice and consent of the senate. Of the initial appointments by the secretary of state to the commission, one shall be for a term ending July 23, 1975, one shall be for a term ending July 23, 1976, one shall be for a term ending July 23, 1977, and one shall be for a term ending July 23, 1978. Thereafter, terms of office shall be for five years, each term ending on the same day of the same month of the year as did the term which it succeeds. The length of the term of office of each of the secretary of state's initial appointees to membership on the commission shall be determined by lot at the initial organizational meeting of the commission.

(B) In making the initial appointments to the commission, the secretary of state shall appoint two persons each from a list of five names submitted by the chairmen of the state central committee of each of the two political parties having the highest total vote cast at the previous election for the office of governor. The four members of the commission so appointed shall by a majority vote appoint a fifth member who is to serve as a member and as chairman of the commission for five years from July 23, 1974. Thereafter, the term of office of the chairman of the commission shall be for five years, each term ending on the same day of the same month of the year as did the term which it succeeds.

(C) Each member of the commission shall hold office from the date of his appointment until the end of the term for which he was appointed. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his predecessor was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of such term. Any member shall continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of his term until his successor takes office, or until a period of sixty days has elapsed, whichever occurs first.

(D) A vacancy in the Ohio elections commission may be caused by death, resignation, or three absences from commission meetings in a calendar year, provided such absences are caused by reasons declared insufficient by a majority vote of the remaining members of the commission. Any



AUTHENTICATED, OHIO LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION DOCUMENT #266464

vacancy in the position of chairman of the commission shall be filled by a majority vote of the four other appointed members of the commission. Upon any other vacancy occurring on the commission, the secretary of state shall appoint a successor from a list of five names submitted by the chairman of the central committee of the political party from whose list of names the member being replaced was appointed.

(E) Each member of the commission while in the performance of the business of the commission shall be entitled to receive compensation at the rate of fifty dollars per day and shall be reimbursed for expenses actually and necessarily incurred in the performance of his duties.

(F) No member of the commission shall serve more than one full term.

(G) No person may hold or be a candidate for any public office or serve on a committee supporting or opposing any issue or proposition at the time he takes office or during the time he serves as a member of the commission.

(H) The commission shall meet at the call of the chairman or upon the written request of a majority of the members. The commission shall adopt rules for its procedures. A majority of the members constitutes a quorum. No action shall be taken without the concurrence of a majority of the members.

(I) The secretary of state shall provide such technical, professional, and clerical employees as are necessary, and any funding that is necessary, for the commission to carry out its duties.