

AUTHENTICATED, OHIO LEGISLATIVE SERVICE COMMISSION DOCUMENT #235446

Ohio Revised Code

Section 4301.022 Liquor control commission.

Effective: December 23, 1986 Legislation: House Bill 428 - 116th General Assembly

The liquor control commission consists of three commissioners, not more than two of whom shall be of the same political party, who shall be appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate. Terms of office shall be for six years, commencing on the ninth day of February and ending on the eighth day of February, except that upon expiration of the term ending February 12, 1979, the new term which succeeds it shall commence on February 13, 1979 and end on February 8, 1985. Each member shall hold office from the date of his appointment until the end of the term for which he was appointed. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his predecessor was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of such term. Any member shall continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of his term until his successor takes office, or until a period of sixty days has elapsed, whichever occurs first.

A vacancy in the office of a member of the commission shall be filled pursuant to section 3.03 of the Revised Code.

The governor shall select a member of the commission to be its chairman and a second member of the commission to be its vice-chairman. The governor may remove a member of the commission at any time for misfeasance, nonfeasance, or malfeasance in office. The commission shall appoint an executive secretary and such other employees as it considers necessary to carry out its powers and duties.

The governor shall designate the chairman and vice-chairman at the time of making the original appointment of members of the commission, at the time thereafter of making an appointment of any member for a full term, and at the time of any vacancy in the office of chairman or vice-chairman.