

## Ohio Revised Code

Section 4707.03 State auctioneers commission.

Effective: May 6, 2005

Legislation: Senate Bill 209 - 125th General Assembly

A state auctioneers commission shall be created within the department of agriculture as follows:

(A) The governor, with the advice and consent of the senate, shall appoint a commission consisting of five members, each of whom immediately prior to the date of appointment has been a resident of this state for at least five years. Four members shall have been an auctioneer for a period of at least five years prior to appointment. One member shall be a member of the public who represents the interests of consumers, is not licensed under this chapter, does not have any management responsibility in the auctioneering industry, does not formulate any policy of the auctioneering industry, does not have a financial interest in the auctioneering industry, and does not have any other connection with the auctioneering profession.

(B) Terms of office shall be for three years, commencing on the tenth day of October and ending on the ninth day of October. Of the two additional appointments made after the effective date of this amendment, one shall be for a term ending on the ninth day of October in the first year following the appointment, and one shall be for a term ending on the ninth day of October in the second year following the appointment. Thereafter, each term of office shall be for three years, commencing on the tenth day of October.

Each member shall hold office from the date of appointment until the end of the term for which appointed. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of such term. Any member shall continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of the member's term until the member's successor takes office, or until a period of sixty days has elapsed, whichever occurs first. A member appointed for a term commencing on or after October 10, 2005, shall not serve more than three consecutive terms.

(C) At no time shall there be more than three members of the same political party serving on the commission.