Skip to main content
Back To Top Top Back To Top
This website publishes administrative rules on their effective dates, as designated by the adopting state agencies, colleges, and universities.

Rule 4765-3-01 | Prehospital emergency medical services regions.


(A) In accordance with section 4765.05 of the Revised Code, the board shall divide the state geographically into prehospital emergency medical services regions for purposes of overseeing the delivery of adult and pediatric prehospital emergency medical services.

(B) Beginning July 1, 2015, the state shall be divided into eight geographical regions as follows:

(1) Region 1 shall include Allen, Auglaize, Defiance, Erie, Fulton, Hancock, Henry, Huron, Lucas, Mercer, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams and Wood counties;

(2) Region 2 shall include Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake and Lorain counties;

(3) Region 3 shall include Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, Preble and Shelby counties;

(4) Region 4 shall include Crawford, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Hardin, Knox, Licking, Logan, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Pickaway, Union, and Wyandot counties;

(5) Region 5 shall include Ashland, Carroll, Columbiana, Holmes, Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Richland, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas and Wayne counties;

(6) Region 6 shall include Adams, Brown, Butler, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton, Highland and Warren counties;

(7) Region 7 shall include Athens, Gallia, Hocking, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Perry, Pike, Ross, Scioto and Vinton counties;

(8) Region 8 shall include Belmont, Coshocton, Guernsey, Harrison, Jefferson, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble and Washington counties.

(C) As used in this chapter, "prehospital emergency medical services" means an emergency medical services system that provides medical services to patients who require immediate assistance, because of illness or injury, prior to their arrival at an emergency medical facility.

(D) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to direct or limit the transport of patients to emergency medical facilities within a prehospital emergency medical services region.

Supplemental Information

Authorized By: 4765.11
Amplifies: 4765.05
Five Year Review Date: 12/31/2023
Prior Effective Dates: 7/31/2014