Skip to main content
Back To Top Top Back To Top
The Legislative Service Commission staff updates the Revised Code on an ongoing basis, as it completes its act review of enacted legislation. Updates may be slower during some times of the year, depending on the volume of enacted legislation.

Section 155.31 | [Former R.C. 1509.71, amended and renumbered by H.B. 110 of the 134th General Assembly, effective 9/30/2021] Statement of policy; oil and gas land management commission.


(A) It is the policy of the state to promote the exploration for, development of, and production of oil and natural gas resources owned or controlled by the state in an effort to use the state's natural resources responsibly.

(B) There is hereby created the oil and gas land management commission consisting of the director of natural resources or the director's designee and the following four members appointed by the governor:

(1) Two members with knowledge or experience in the oil and gas industry recommended by a statewide organization representing the oil and gas industry;

(2) One member of the public with expertise in finance or real estate;

(3) One member representing a statewide environmental or conservation organization.

(C) Initial appointments shall be made to the commission not later than thirty days after September 30, 2011. Of the initial members appointed to the commission, one shall serve a term of two years, one shall serve a term of three years, one shall serve a term of four years, and one shall serve a term of five years. Thereafter, terms of office of members shall be for five years from the date of appointment. Each member appointed by the governor shall hold office from the date of appointment until the end of the term for which the member was appointed. The governor shall fill a vacancy occurring on the commission by appointing a member within sixty days after the vacancy occurs. A member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which the member's predecessor was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of that term. A member shall continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of the member's term until the member's successor takes office, or until a period of sixty days has elapsed, whichever occurs first.

(D) Three members constitute a quorum of the commission, and no action of the commission is valid unless it has the concurrence of at least three members. The commission shall keep a record of its proceedings. The director of natural resources or the director's designee shall serve as the chairperson of the commission.

(E) The governor may remove an appointed member from the commission for inefficiency, malfeasance, misfeasance, or nonfeasance.

(F) Members of the commission shall receive no compensation, but shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in the course of the performance of their duties as members of the commission.

(G) Not later than ninety days after the effective date of this amendment , the commission shall hire at least one staff member to provide clerical and other services required by the commission in the performance of its duties.

Last updated October 19, 2021 at 5:05 PM

Available Versions of this Section