Skip to main content
Back To Top Top Back To Top
The Legislative Service Commission staff updates the Revised Code on an ongoing basis, as it completes its act review of enacted legislation. Updates may be slower during some times of the year, depending on the volume of enacted legislation.

Section 351.04 | Organization of board of directors.


A convention facilities authority shall be governed by a board of directors consisting of the following members:

(A) Six directors appointed by the county commissioners. One shall be a representative of the townships in the county, one shall be a representative of a major business trade association located in the county, and one shall be a representative of the convention and visitors' bureau operating within the county. Not more than three of the persons appointed under this division shall be members of the same political party.

(B) Three directors appointed by the mayor of the municipal corporation that has the greatest population residing in the territory of the authority. Each appointment shall be subject to approval by a majority of the members of the legislative authority of the municipal corporation. Not more than two of the persons appointed under this division shall be members of the same political party.

(C) Two directors appointed by agreement of the mayors of the remaining municipal corporations located within the county in such manner as the board of county commissioners directs in the authorizing resolution. The persons appointed under this division shall not be members of the same political party.

Each director shall have been a qualified elector of, or shall have had his business or place of employment in the county creating the authority for a period of at least three years next preceding his appointment.

Original appointments to the board of directors shall be made by a date that shall be specified by the board of county commissioners in its resolution creating the authority, provided, if the board of county commissioners adopts a resolution to levy the tax under section 5739.026 of the Revised Code for the purpose of division (A)(1) of such section, the original appointments shall be made not later than thirty days after the adoption of the resolution to levy that tax.

The directors first appointed shall serve staggered terms, as set forth in the authorizing resolution of the board of county commissioners. Thereafter, each successor shall serve for a term of four years, except that any person appointed to fill a vacancy shall be appointed to only the unexpired term. Any director is eligible for reappointment.

The directors shall elect one director as chairman and another as vice-chairman; shall designate their terms of office; and shall appoint a secretary, who need not be a director. A majority of the board shall constitute a quorum, the affirmative vote of which shall be necessary for any action taken by the authority. No vacancy in the membership of the board shall impair the rights of a quorum to exercise all the rights and perform all the duties of the authority.

Each director shall be entitled to receive from the authority reimbursement for reasonable expenses in the performance of his duties . The board of county commissioners may fix the compensation of the directors or determine that they shall serve without compensation.

Available Versions of this Section