Skip to main content
Back To Top Top Back To Top
The Legislative Service Commission staff updates the Revised Code on an ongoing basis, as it completes its act review of enacted legislation. Updates may be slower during some times of the year, depending on the volume of enacted legislation.

Section 4112.03 | Ohio civil rights commission.


There is hereby created the Ohio civil rights commission to consist of five members, not more than three of whom shall be of the same political party, to be appointed by the governor, with the advice and consent of the senate, one of whom shall be designated by the governor as chairman. At least one member shall be at least sixty years of age.

Terms of office shall be for five years, commencing on the twenty-ninth day of July and ending on the twenty-eighth day of July. Each member shall hold office from the date of his appointment until the end of the term for which he was appointed. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his predecessor was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of such term. Any member shall continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of his term until his successor takes office, or until a period of sixty days has elapsed, whichever occurs first.

Three members of the commission shall constitute a quorum for the purpose of conducting the business thereof. A vacancy in the commission shall not impair the right of the remaining members to exercise all the powers of the commission.

Each member of the commission shall be paid a salary established pursuant to division (J) of section 124.15 of the Revised Code plus necessary and actual expenses while traveling on business of the commission.

Any member of the commission may be removed by the governor for inefficiency, neglect of duty, misconduct, or malfeasance in office, after being given a written statement of the charges against him and an opportunity to be heard publicly thereon.

Available Versions of this Section