Skip to main content
Back To Top Top Back To Top
The Legislative Service Commission staff updates the Revised Code on an ongoing basis, as it completes its act review of enacted legislation. Updates may be slower during some times of the year, depending on the volume of enacted legislation.

Section 4901.02 | Public utilities commission of Ohio.


(A) There is hereby created the public utilities commission of Ohio, by which name the commission may sue and be sued. The commission shall consist of five public utilities commissioners appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate. The governor shall designate one of such commissioners to be the chairperson of the commission. The chairperson of the commission shall serve as chairperson at the governor's pleasure. The commissioners shall be selected from the lists of qualified persons submitted to the governor by the public utilities commission nominating council pursuant to section 4901.021 of the Revised Code. Not more than three of said commissioners shall belong to or be affiliated with the same political party. The commission shall possess the powers and duties specified in, as well as all powers necessary and proper to carry out the purposes of Chapters 4901., 4903., 4905., 4907., 4909., 4921., 4923., and 4927. of the Revised Code.

(B) A majority of the public utilities commissioners constitutes a quorum.

(C) The terms of office of public utilities commissioners shall be for five years, commencing on the eleventh day of April and ending on the tenth day of April, except that terms of the first commissioners shall be for one, two, three, four, and five years, respectively, as designated by the governor at the time of appointment. Each commissioner shall hold office from the date of appointment until the end of the term for which the commissioner was appointed. Any commissioner appointed to fill a vacancy occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which the commissioner was appointed shall hold office for the remainder of such term. Any commissioner shall continue in office subsequent to the expiration date of the term for which the commissioner was appointed until the commissioner's successor takes office, or until a period of sixty days has elapsed, whichever occurs first. Each vacancy shall be filled by appointment within sixty days after the vacancy occurs.

(D) Public utilities commissioners shall have at least three years of experience in one or more of the following fields: economics, law, finance, accounting, engineering, physical or natural sciences, natural resources, or environmental studies. At least one commissioner shall be an attorney admitted to the practice of law in any state or the District of Columbia.

(E) The chairperson of the commission shall be the head of the commission and its chief executive officer. The appointment or removal of employees of the commission or any division thereof, and all contracts for special service, are subject to the approval of the chairperson. The chairperson shall designate one of the commissioners to act as deputy chairperson, who shall possess during the absence or disability of the chairperson, all of the powers of the chairperson.

Last updated February 21, 2024 at 3:24 PM

Available Versions of this Section