Skip to main content
Back To Top Top Back To Top
The Legislative Service Commission staff updates the Revised Code on an ongoing basis, as it completes its act review of enacted legislation. Updates may be slower during some times of the year, depending on the volume of enacted legislation.

Section 184.01 | Third frontier commission.

You are viewing a past version of this section that is no longer in effect View Current Version

(A) There is hereby created the third frontier commission in the development services agency. The purpose of the commission is to coordinate and administer science and technology programs to promote the welfare of the people of the state and to maximize the economic growth of the state through expansion of both of the following:

(1) The state's high technology research and development capabilities;

(2) The state's product and process innovation and commercialization.

(B)(1) The commission shall consist of eleven members: the director of development services, the chancellor of the Ohio board of regents, the governor's science and technology advisor, the chief investment officer of the nonprofit corporation formed under section 187.01 of the Revised Code, and seven persons appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate.

(2) Of the seven persons appointed by the governor, one shall represent the central region, which is composed of the counties of Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Franklin, Hocking, Knox, Licking, Logan, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Perry, Pickaway, Ross, and Union; one shall represent the west central region, which is composed of the counties of Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, and Shelby; one shall represent the northeast region, which is composed of the counties of Ashland, Ashtabula, Carroll, Crawford, Columbiana, Cuyahoga, Erie, Geauga, Holmes, Huron, Lake, Lorain, Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Richland, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas, and Wayne; one shall represent the northwest region, which is composed of the counties of Allen, Auglaize, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Lucas, Mercer, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams, Wood, and Wyandot; one shall represent the southeast region, which shall represent the counties of Adams, Athens, Belmont, Coshocton, Gallia, Guernsey, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Pike, Scioto, Vinton, and Washington; one shall represent the southwest region, which is composed of the counties of Butler, Brown, Clermont, Clinton, Hamilton, Highland, and Warren; and one shall represent the public at large. Of the initial appointments, two shall be for one year, two shall be for two years, and two shall be for three years as assigned by the governor. Thereafter, appointments shall be for three-year terms. Members may be reappointed and vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as appointments. A person must have a background in business or research in order to be eligible for appointment to the commission.

(3) The governor shall select a chairperson from among the members, who shall serve in that role at the pleasure of the governor. Sections 101.82 to 101.87 of the Revised Code do not apply to the commission.

(C) The commission shall meet at least once during each quarter of the calendar year or at the call of the chairperson. A majority of all members of the commission constitutes a quorum, and no action shall be taken without the concurrence of a majority of the members.

(D) The commission shall administer any money that may be appropriated to it by the general assembly. The commission may use such money for research and commercialization and for any other purposes that may be designated by the commission.

(E) The development services agency shall provide office space and facilities for the commission. Administrative costs associated with the operation of the commission or with any program or activity administered by the commission shall be paid from amounts appropriated to the commission or to the agency for such purposes.

(F) The attorney general shall serve as the legal representative for the commission and may appoint other counsel as necessary for that purpose in accordance with section 109.07 of the Revised Code.

(G) Members of the commission shall serve without compensation, but shall receive their reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the conduct of commission business.

(H) Members of the commission shall file financial disclosure statements described in division (B) of section 102.02 of the Revised Code.

Available Versions of this Section