Skip to main content
Back To Top Top Back To Top
The Legislative Service Commission staff updates the Revised Code on an ongoing basis, as it completes its act review of enacted legislation. Updates may be slower during some times of the year, depending on the volume of enacted legislation.

Section 302.082 | Electing of county commissioners by districts in alternative form.


(A) Under all alternative forms of county government whereby any members of the board of county commissioners are elected by districts there shall be a board of county commissioners who shall have the qualifications and shall be nominated and elected as provided by general law, except as otherwise provided for in this section.

(B) The board shall consist of such odd number of members, not less than three nor more than twenty-one members, as is provided in the proposition for the alternative form that has been adopted. If the proposition provides for seven or more members, no more than half shall be elected at large.

Any or all districts for county commissioners may be multi-member districts, but the division of the county into districts for county commissioners shall conform to the constitutional standards for division of the state into districts for election of members of the general assembly. If the proposition for the alternative form adopted provides that any county commissioners shall be elected by districts, the board of county commissioners shall, every ten years, commencing in 1971 and every ten years thereafter, divide the county into county commissioner districts, using the most recent decennial federal census.

(C) The term of office of county commissioners shall be four years, except as provided in division (C) of this section. If the proposition for the alternative form adopted changes the number of county commissioners, or changes the number of commissioners who are elected by districts, the total number of commissioners shall be elected at the first regular state election following the adoption of the alternative form. The board of elections shall assign a number to each county commissioner position established by the provisions of the alternative form. Candidates shall file for and be elected to a specifically numbered position. The odd-numbered positions shall be filled for a term of four years, and the even-numbered positions shall be filled for a term of two years at the first election and for four years thereafter.

Available Versions of this Section